Hi,
    I am a Noob and i did search as much as i could. i have a 700wx with verizon i have recently been traveling out of town to an area that has extened network and my phone runs so slow its crazy. for instand for me to open up text messages takes about 3 mins. even the camera doesn't flow it works like it is in stop motion. my contact list doesn't even load up. pretty much i can do everything but it takes minutes to do and i have full service. if i get an incoming call i can answer it right away and have great reception

is this typical? the guy at the verizon store said yea it's because your in extended network. but i don't know how it would effect the programs in my phone. so my question is, is this like this for everyone or just my phone and should return it?

any respone would be appriciated and sorry if this has been brought up just post a link for me and i'll read it.
    thank you
    Global Posts
    882 Global Posts
    Is your phone using Data at the same time that you are trying to open these things? Are you syncing with an Exchange server? These kind of things can slow your phone down in the extended network because the data is coming in slower and your phone is working harder. That is also why you may have to charge your phone more in the Extended Area.
    Palm Treo 700w > VZW Treo 700wx
    Global Posts
    245 Global Posts
    Something is certainly wrong. I spend a good deal of time in extended (1x) coverage and never notice any application issues other than sync with my Exchange server is a tad slower and of course any web browsing would be a little slower. But apps like camera and sms shouldn't slow down. It does sound like your device is trying to do something that's very bandwidth intensive in the background. Thus, starting with dimitri's question, are you configured with an Exchange server? If not, what, if anything, are you set up to sync with?