Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    First of all this is not for beginners, you could do damage to you phone and I take no responsibility if you do. Walking through these steps backwards might work to undo the changes but a hard reset would probably be easier. I've only been using my phone like this for one day so this is only for those who really like to tweak stuff. The phone feels much more responsive and I really do think it looks better too. I'm not a pro at writing guides so I'll just get right to it:

Install MemMaid and under "Today Plug-ins" disable the plugins "Dial Lookup" and "Active Call", the regular Today settings screen doesn't show you these two plugins.

Then using a registry editor go to "HKLM\Security\Phone\Skin" and change Enabled from 1 to 0 then go up one level to "HKLM\Security\Phone" and change Keymap to "ERTDFGXCVZUBO" and Charmap to "ertdfgxcvzubo"

Once done do a soft reset and your Treo 700wx should now function like a regular windows mobile device where the green send button will bring up a dialpad. It will take a little while to get accustom to the change but the only thing I miss is the ignore with a text message option. I never liked the name search today plugin, it was to easy to call someone by accident with it.

Other things you can now change are the right and left softkey options, I have my left go to SMS and my right going to Email. This is done in the registry by going to "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Today\Keys" and adding a Key called "112" and "113". Inside of 112 change "Default" to "SMS" and add a string value called "Open" and makes it's value "\Windows\messaging.exe" this is for the threaded SMS, not sure what it would be for the regular one. Then in 113 change "Default" value to "Email" and add a string value called "Open" and make it's value ":MSINBOX".

When finished you can use one of the themes from Zombienexus.net's WM6 Basic dialpad skin pack (transparency-challenged edition) found here: