Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Been lurking for a while now. I'm new to the whole PDA phone thing. I'd like a new PDA (current Palm IIIc user), and I already carry a Verizon phone (A670). The contracts up so I've been thinking about the Treos. Not sure if I want the P or the W, but I'm leaning towards the W since I'm familiar with windows and it seems to have more options in it.

Aside from obvious operating differences, are their issues / problems with one over the other? I know the P's have some issues I've read here.

As for the data plan. Not sure I really need it. I have messaging on my package now. Currently I can send a txtmsg to an email address, and viceversa. I assume I can still do this with the Treos. That's about all I really need in terms of "email". I'll most likely not do "real" email. I don't want to be THAT accessable really.

The thing I noticed with the P in the store is that when you press the phone button you get the phone instantly. With the W it went to a drop down (actually up in this case) and you had to pick something else to get to the dialpad. Is there a shortcut for this?
    Judging by your post, I think the P is the way for you. Palm OS is cleaner and more user friendly. the W, again IMO, is more for power/business users.
  3.    #3  
    Well I played with the W and it seems to have more options and seemed like it was going to play nicer with things like MP3's. I could actually see myself plugging the thing into the port of my truck for MP3's.

Not to mention I didn't much care for the things I read about the P. I guess I was really wondering if those things were overrated.
    Quote Originally Posted by gpshemi View Post
    Well I played with the W and it seems to have more options and seemed like it was going to play nicer with things like MP3's. I could actually see myself plugging the thing into the port of my truck for MP3's.