1.    #1  
    My program memory appears to bounce around pretty regularly. I go from 11M to 9M to 1M. Lately my phone has been giving me critically low memory errors. I don't have much installed on my phone. Any ideas what might be causing it?
    Palm 700w
    I'm a newbie to smartphones and the like, so be nice!
    [QUOTE=Wingnut33;1228103]My program memory appears to bounce around pretty regularly. I go from 11M to 9M to 1M. Lately my phone has been giving me critically low memory errors. I don't have much installed on my phone. Any ideas what might be causing it?[/QUOT

The 700w is precious little program memory, so running an application like windows media will basically drop you down to critically low levels. "X"ing out of a program does not shut it down, it only minimizes it so keeping an eye on your running programs is critical. You need to watch your task mananager and manually shut down programs in order to keep enough free to keep your device working. If you just got the w i recommend you return and go for the wx as it has about three times as much program memory. if not, you may want to invest in a task managing program like handyswitcher so you can more easily close out programs your not using.
    Quote Originally Posted by nyc_rock View Post
    ..."X"ing out of a program does not shut it down, it only minimizes it so keeping an eye on your running programs is critical. You need to watch your task mananager and manually shut down programs in order to keep enough free to keep your device working...
    Totally agree. It's very, very easy to have many, many applications running and not even realize it until you learn that programs never really close. I use "SPB Pocket Plus" to make that "x" actually close programs instead of minimizing them. I can still minimize if I want to - "SPB Pocket Plus" is set up that way.
  4.    #4