1.    #1  
    Hello all,

I have tried searching the forums and have not had much luck. I am trying to backup my phone so that I can do a hard reset and start over. The problem is that I have approximately 7,000 SMS mesages in my inbox and 7,000 in my outbox. Everytime I try to run SPB Backup it locks up. I've even tried leting it run overnight to no avail.

When SPB estimates the backup file size it comes to 23M. Is that too large? Has anyone else experienced this?

Any suggestions as to how I can back these text messages up? Can I connect the phone to my PC and navigate to them somehow?

Thanks in advance...
    Palm 700w
    I'm a newbie to smartphones and the like, so be nice!
    Global Posts
    28 Global Posts
    are u using the threaded sms?
    I can tell you that using Sprite, my backup file is 22mb. So it doesnt sound like its a file size issue.
  4.    #4  
    No I'm not using threaded sms - at least I don't think so. I haven't made any changes to the way the messages are stored since I got the phone.

I've read about threaded SMS and I'm not 100% sure what it does.
    Palm 700w
  5.    #5  
    Does Sprite backup SMS messages?
    Palm 700w
    Global Posts
    28 Global Posts
    i'm not sure how to back it up, but if you were the threaded sms all you have to do was copy one file.. Threaded sms just put all your message to one person in the same box instead of using the inbox that they give you.
  7.    #7  
    If I apply the threaded feature now, will it sort my old messages that way? Then I can copy files that I want by user right?
    Palm 700w
    I believe it gets rid of your old messaging files and replaces the core stuff with its own, so... no. You'd lose your messages, I think.
    END OF LINE
    Global Posts
    28 Global Posts
    yea its too late you will lose ur messages
    This app says that it will back them up for you. I just found it so I can't tell you for sure if it's reliable or not?