Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I finally got the google maps for windows mobile, i have the sprint palm treo 700wx im somewhat new to it, but i saw a feature on the google maps that says "track locations (GPS)" but when i select that it, it doesnt seem to work, says "your gps receiver does not apper to be responding" so im not sure how to get it to work if there is even a way for it to work. im guessing this feature is like a navigation system like you would find in new cars like bmw's. so if someone can please help me out, this would be a really good feature for me since im really bad with directions.

thank you.
    Do you have a GPS hooked up to your Treo? It does not have one internally.
  3.    #3  
    i thought it has gps built in
    Quote Originally Posted by pate83 View Post
    i thought it has gps built in
    nope
  5.    #5  
    oh that sucks, i was really excited, so then what is the gps do we have on the phone, i do see a gps button in the settings section.
    There is gps built-in (not true gps but rather Sprint's location based service (LBS))

Unfortunately, Sprint has only enabled is it in evdo rev. a devices.

It's too bad...google maps + LBS = the schiznit.
  7.    #7  
    i have rev. a and evdo, so does that help at all with the google maps and gps or am i totally out of luck
    I don't think the Treo is a Rev A phone though. You may have the service out there but the phone won't care.
    Dude with any current Treo you HAVE to have an external GPS unit to get what you're looking for. The GPS setting in the device is for Enhanced 911 - for 911 operators to be able to approximate your location.

Just go to www.buygpsnow.com and grab a receiver for $99. Works great. And then once you have GPS working with Google Maps (what I call 'poor man's GPS' - although I use it a great deal of time), you can then graduate to full GPS solution from TeleNav - www.telenav.com - and you can keep and use your receiver.