Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    176 Global Posts
    There are few threads that say this but it's not clear in the Title. I am new to Windows Mobile, and when I started looking for 3rd party software I was assuming the the Treo 750 was a Smartphone because that's what Palm calls it. I even talked to Handango because I couldn't download software that I KNOW will work on the 750, because it's categorized as a SmartPhone in their database. The fact of the matter is, that the Treo 750 is a Pocket PC, NOT a Smartphone, so when you go to sites like Handango to download software you need to chose Windows Mobile Pocket PC, and not Treo 750 otherwise very little software will show up; for example....PiePlus and Netfront browsers.
    Handango is now aware of this problem after emailing with me back and forth, but they didn't specify when they will resolve it.
    this confusion can be atributed to MS for naming the os Smartphone OS. The rest o the world considers a pda like phone to be a smart device, aka smartphone. Palm isn't wrong caling it a smartphone, but it can be confusing for noobs that don't read the specifications.
    I think Palm was wrong in calling this device a Smartphone when in fact it is Pocket PC. All Pocket PC devices have touch screen whereas Smartphone based phones have no touch screen.

This is the major difference between two types of devices.
    Global Posts
    719 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mob1lejunkie View Post
    I think Palm was wrong in calling this device a Smartphone when in fact it is Pocket PC.
    Only in the land of Microsoft, the rest of the planet would classify it as a smartphone
    I usually call it a PDA phone, LOL! But yes, smartphone certainly applies.