1.    #1  
    Hi guys,

It's my first time trying out a WM device and I'm wondering if there are any differences between installing apps to internal RAM or expansion card?

In the Palm OS, certain apps don't work unless they are installed into internal RAM - apps that run in the background, apps that generate system alarms, apps that monitor system events, etc.

Is this the case with WM? If I were to install an alarm app onto the expansion card and then remove the expansion card, will the alarm still play or will it cause a system crash?

Any insight would be helpful guys. Thanks.
    Treo 680 Graphite, Unlocked GSM (FW: MW01.50 | SW: TREO680-1.04-ROW | HW: A)
    Quote Originally Posted by rudychow View Post
    Hi guys,

It's my first time trying out a WM device and I'm wondering if there are any differences between installing apps to internal RAM or expansion card?

In the Palm OS, certain apps don't work unless they are installed into internal RAM - apps that run in the background, apps that generate system alarms, apps that monitor system events, etc.

Is this the case with WM? If I were to install an alarm app onto the expansion card and then remove the expansion card, will the alarm still play or will it cause a system crash?

Any insight would be helpful guys. Thanks.
    No, there really is no difference with one exception. Programs like Today plug-ins or apps that are activated by a button press (ie. Pocket Informant) that wake up the device should be installed in main memory rather than on a storage card. Any other situation apps can be installed just fine on either main memory or memory card.

HTH!
    PDA Lineage: Handspring Visor Deluxe, Visor Prism, Casio EM-500, Casio E-200, HP Jornada 568, IPAQ 1910,IPAQ 4150,Ipaq 2750 (with Moto Razr V3), Imate K-Jam,Treo 750,HTC Touch Cruise,HTC Touch Diamond(US)
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by JGold View Post