1.    #1  
    I have some great backgrounds I'd like to use, but with the text on the Today screen being white, I can't see anything with those backgrounds. How can I change the text color to something darker, like black or blue?
    I believe the text color is set by the theme. You would need a theme that has darker text.
    Main Phone: Treo 270/600/650/700w/700p/750v/Motorola Q/iPhone
    Tried but sold: Motorola Q/Nokia E61/700wx/HTC TyTN/Treo 680
    Get a registry editor and follow the advice on these 3 articles. You really only need one of them but I thought more could help.

http://www.theunwired.net/?itemid=1866&catid=80
    http://wiki.xda-developers.com/index...sMobile5Colors
    http://www.pocketpcmag.com/blogs/ind...&c=1&tb=1&pb=1

The PPC Mag has several options available to you.

Enjoy.

From PPC Mag: View article for screenshots.
    Finally, if you would like doing this in the Registry editing way, get a binary editor-capable registry editor (please read this roundup on choosing the right one). If you, for example, have Resco Registry Editor (my favourite), do the following:

1. go to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Color] and click SHColor in the bottom pane. There, go to the position '0010' (that's where the three bytes of the today text color start); the cursor should blink at the beginning of the row:

2. press the Delete key (NOT the backspace key!) exactly three times. The three bytes that stood to the right from the cursor have now disappeared and the rest of the contents have shifted to the left:

3. enter the R/G/B components of the new color. For example, if you want gray Today font colors, enter 80 80 80:

4. press OK and Yes.

With a registry editor (for example, the recommended Mobile Registry Editor) that has, as opposed to the above-explained Resco, no position counter, you need to do the following: