1.    #1  
    Well I can't claim much credit here as swifty99 has an excellent post on removing the Treo 650 camera here:

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...=remove+camera

But I will take credit for being maybe the first guy to try his method on the Treo 700W. Two things - it works! And, it WILL void your warranty.

There is simply no way to safely remove the warranty sticker as described in swifty99's first step. I don't know if this is a change from the 650 warranty sticker but I was really careful and it immediately showed signs of tampering. But I am a defense contractor and the camera had to go. I have successfully rebooted the phone and even tried the camera app to see if it would crash the phone and all is well. It was a pretty easy process but follow swifty99's advice to use your fingernails - there is no need to use a screwdriver to pop the case apart.

My Treo 700W observations: I didn't own the earlier model but I have lousy eyes and am very critical of most displays and this screen is terriffic. Lots of controls to adjust text size. The internet is FAST - even in the supposedly slow areas. Keyboard is ok for my fat fingers. Biggest criticism is battery life. I don't use power savings features - I set the phone for how I like it and take what I get. Brighter screen, increased on time before the sleep mode, Bluetooth always on. As such, it has about four hours of battery time with regular-to-heavy phone, Bluetooth headset and internet usage. Recharging takes a LONG time so get another battery (Verizion has a cradle that charges the handset and an extra battery at the same time). I returned my first Bluetooth headset, the Plantronics 320, because of constant static and dropouts. So far, the Jabra seems OK but callers say it picks up a more background noise than it should. It is way cool.
    Last edited by scjaction77; 01/14/2006 at 09:05 AM.