Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TJs11thPre
  • 1 Post By Grabber5.0
  1.    #1  
    Long time Pre user first time caller, as they say....

My Palm Pre is dying and I need to decide if I should buy a new one.

I've been using cell phones since 1995 and the Pre since the month it came out. I love this phone. It's been my primary phone all these years, and still is today. Yesterday the keyboard stopped functioning. The speakerphone and ringer don't work, so it's time to make some serious decisions.

I need a phone to make calls and text. I need a browser to check my web-based email and occasionally look something up on the Internet. I need GPS, and the ability to take photos and video. A timer/stopwatch would be nice, and I would love to have a game like 'Mastermind'. A keyboard. That's it.

When I travel for work, I have a Surface Pro that will do all the magical app things other people use their phones for. I'm happy that way. I have a Motorola Moto E for GPS and Yelp when I travel, and I tried another smartphone about 2 years ago, but I'm deeply uncomfortable walking around with an ecosystems in my pocket that is owned by one large company. I just can't stomach having my whole life in one basket.

And of course, nothing has ever beat the Palm on size, shape and ease of use. I do not want to give it up!

I'm on Sprint, my family is on Cricket (AT&T). Dumping Sprint would save a lot of money, but that's secondary. I've found some feature phones that don't seem awful, but I suspect they'll be victims of 2G sunset. I can't find a single Smartphone that doesn't creep me out or isn't too big (even the 'little' Moto E).

I'm not a Luddite, and I'm not a total *****, so maybe I could get a new Pre (any model) and hack it into something that will work for me? Yes? I have three original Pres here, all with various hardware issues, but I've never broken into any of them beyond switching out the battery.

Thoughts?