1.    #1  
    Hi everybody,

I've just bought a gsm pre on the internet. I've always wanted to use webos decided to give it a try. The seller didn't seem to know anything about the device and when I received it I could see messages, apps and etc from the previous owner. He didn't know where the Pre was from. By looking at the keyboard (qwertz) I realized it was a german device. He told me it was unlocked. The device arrived in good conditions, no scratches or anything like that (just the original pouch was kinda dirty). At first I couldn't install any app from the catalog. I did a full erase on the device with a working sim in it and set up a palm profile for myself. Things seem to be working ok. My questions are... I'm totally new to webos, so what is webos quick install? And webos doctor? I'm a long time iPhone user. The quick install works as some kind of jailbreak? I don't really know...
    Can anyone help me?
    You will find the answers to almost anything that you want to know by using the search function on this forum. (in the menu above).

webOS Quickinstall is a desktop application which allows you to interact with your webOS device when it is Developer Mode. (install/remove patches programs, themes etc, among other things.

To access the Developer Mode Enabler, just type in webos20090606 at the main screen.

See this thread http://forums.precentral.net/canuck-...-v4-2-3-a.html

The webOS Doctor is a program provided by HP for your device to restore the operating system if you have any major OS related problems.

You should also install webos-internals' Preware onto your Pre to provide on-device access to programs and patches.

Application:Preware - WebOS Internals

And welcome to Pre|Central.
  3.    #3