1.    #1  
    I'm a total newb when it comes to Palms so I am hope some people will be willing to chime in and share their opinions.

The Droid X is my 1st smartphone and the 2 things that I enjoy most about it are the 4.3 inch display and touch screen keyboard. I enjoy browsing the android app store, and, after doing some research, quickly rooted my phone to enjoy custom apps, wifi tethering, and the ability to unlock it's full potential.

Recently, Verizon and AT&T seemed to begin to take a tougher stance against unauthorized tethering and began blocking them from the app store. I know it is against the terms of the contract so I can understand their point of view. Luckily, such apps can be downloaded at other sources and installed through sideloading. And, as of now, Verizon has taken little hard action against those that tether.

However, I wanted to explore other legitimate options, especially ones that wouldn't inflate my existing wireless bill.

When I did tether my Droid X, I used it sparingly, not all the time or every month, and no more than 1-1.5 GB during the months I did. I reserve tethering for when I'm riding the train, staying in a hotel with no free wifi, or as a backup when my cable goes down.

The original Palm Pre Plus and Pixi Plus, as I'm sure you guys know offer free, perfectly legal, sanctioned by Big Red, tethering up to 5 GB per month so I got one and plan to keep my Droid X as my primary phone and activate the Palm Pre when I need to tether.

I'm not an Android fan boy and didn't come hear to pick a fight, but for me texting is so much easier via touch screen and also using voice to text, that having to use a qwerty keyboard on a regular basis, palm, android, or otherwise, seems a little oppressive.
    Then there is the issue of the smaller screen so I am not planning to give up my X anytime soon and really plan to use the Pre strictly for tethering.