1.    #1  
    I still have webos 1.4.5 on my main phone.
    I want to get webos 2.1 but it looks risky without navigation nd prl update.
    I'm not really technical into this.

so how long does it take for webos to be intalled in a pre- ?
    It's easy, and nothing to worry about. The easiest method is Sprint webOS 2.1.0 Upgrade - simplified

Make sure you read and understand the whole process before starting. Lots of us have already upgraded, and some have gone back. I'm happy enough with it to stay.
    Due to the cancellation of the penny, I no longer give 2 about anything. I may however, give a nickel
    I put WebOS 2.1.0 on my Sprint Pre- and it went very smooth after setting up meta-doctor and getting the meta-sprint file all ready to flash on the phone, That took about a half hour tops. Then the actually flash form 1.4.5 to 2.1.0 to the phone only takes maybe like ten minutes. I loved it on my Pre- I had mine oc'd with F104a with screenstatev2 at 500/1.1. I had sprint navigation installed and I had flash installed as well. It ran good it had it's moment of a little lag but nothing so bad that would make you want to go back to 1.4.5 or at least not for me. I did end up doing a FrankenPre+ conversion, Only becaue i got the phone very cheap in great condition and I will say the extra ram in it, Goin form 256 to 512 makes a pretty big difference. But a Sprint Pre- to me is capable of running 2.1.0. That's my 2 cents I hope that it helps ya make a informed decision.
    Sprint Palm Pre+ WebOS 2.1 W/ Flash. OC'D 500/1.1ghz.
    honestly it's simple to do, but I came back to 1.4.5

mainly because of lag, I tried telling myself 2.1 ran fast n didn't lag much with the overclock but when I went back to 1.4.5 with 1ghz I realized I was lying to myself.

this was on a OG Pre though, I'm sure it's tons better on Pre+ or Pre2
    took a half hour or so to download cygwin. After that, the whole process was around ten minutes.
    from the webOS 2 upgrade wiki: