1.    #1  
    Ok, so this is what's happening with my Verizon Pre Plus v. 1.4.5:

I have no media audio, this includes alarms and ringer. Phone audio works fine, and Ghastly Headset indicates that the phonee is correctly switching audio output modes and is NOT stuck in headset mode (i've dealt with that before). I cannot play any media on the phone, youtube and videos both give an "error occurred" message and fail to play. Pandora and streaming audio fail, and the music player skips from track to track and never plays anything. I've rebooted, removed and reinstalled apps and patches, downgraded from uberkernal to standard and back up, pulled the battery, shimmed the headphoe jack, etc etc... It looks like I'm going to have to DR. The phone, but if anyone has any ideas I'd be glad to hear them before I go and wipe my OS. I'm not a coder, but I know my way around the command line and am not afraid of mucking with the linux core, hell worst that could happen is I need to DR my phone right? I'm already as backed up as I can be, but I'm a bit of a nut and just don't want to give up and DR until I've tried everything.

any ideas? Are we talking driver corruption or maybe a manual prefs edit/repair. NANO is my friend

edit: after reading some other threads and backtracking my actions I realize this seems to have begun with my fist restart after updating optware's sudo instal. I so rarely restart m phone that I had forgotten that I did that ! I believe these problems are linked to sudo, just not sure how...
    Last edited by Jawzx2; 03/20/2011 at 09:49 AM.
    pandora uses a different volume control than the music player does. I'm not convinced that you aren't seeing a faulty headset plug (hardware) and possibly some corruption in music files...

sounds like multiple problems masquerading as one. that would be a great episode of House, btw.
  3.    #3