Global Posts
    465 Global Posts
    I'm having problems after I swapped out a comm board. I had a radio pretty much die on me (it kept doing the "phone offline" thing). so i got a used pre on the cheap on ebay with a clean esn (rest of the phone was pretty much hosed).

So I swapped comm boards, and activated the new esn, but it won't connect to evdo so I can't activate my profile. Anyone know what I could do or what I did wrong?
    do a search for "sprint pre plus" - I'm no expert, but you have to swap the tokens (a series of files) before you swap and create a metadoctor to doctor the phone with the tokens from the other phone. It's not as easy as a swap (from my experience: At&T pre plus --> sprint).

others will no doubt chime in. the sprint pre-plus guide will show you how (google search for the precentral post). I used it to later swap to sprint pre minuses comm boards and it worked flawless
    Global Posts
    465 Global Posts
    So there is some kind of key that the radio and the system board share that has to match? In that case, i might as well just swap out the system board + comm board into my pre?
    Global Posts
    465 Global Posts
    So putting the main system board and the comm board into my phone allowed it to activate, but now it's doing the same "Phone Offline" thing again! I messaged the guy on ebay I bought it from, but he said that it had never given him that message. Could it be just my phone chassis that is causing the problem?
    Did you do the metadoctor that was suggested?

Sent from my eVo
    Sent from my favorite gadget!
    Global Posts
    465 Global Posts
    No, I pulled the entire system board + comm board from the other pre and put it into mine. There should be no token problems that way. The problem is now (as it was on my old pre) just the "phone offline" crap that everyone else seems to be getting these days. So I just lucked into getting another pre with the same problem as mine haha.