1.    #1  
    Ok the situation is this. I bought my Pre when it came out, after a few buggy months, I got a replacement.

Now the replacement is chock full of bugs as well, and really unuseable! My experiences with o2 have been less than fun, so I have very little respect for them.

I have a ton of sms messages that are related to work. Apparently I can't back them up ....... but I can if I do Homebrew.

I'm a complete newb on this, so my question is: can I Homebrew, use a utility to backup my sms, and then completely remove any evidence of the Homebrew. My worry is that o2 will say "Our engineer has determined that you have homebrewed your Pre so your warranty is now invalid".

Also, once I have backed up my messages, can I read them off my PC or can they only be read on the Pre. I only ask because quite possibly I will be ridding myself of a Pre if this shambles carries on!
    once you have done your magic, doctor the phone and you should be fine.
    Quote Originally Posted by sosos View Post
    Ok the situation is this. I bought my Pre when it came out, after a few buggy months, I got a replacement.

Now the replacement is chock full of bugs as well, and really unuseable! My experiences with o2 have been less than fun, so I have very little respect for them.

I have a ton of sms messages that are related to work. Apparently I can't back them up ....... but I can if I do Homebrew.

I'm a complete newb on this, so my question is: can I Homebrew, use a utility to backup my sms, and then completely remove any evidence of the Homebrew. My worry is that o2 will say "Our engineer has determined that you have homebrewed your Pre so your warranty is now invalid".

Also, once I have backed up my messages, can I read them off my PC or can they only be read on the Pre. I only ask because quite possibly I will be ridding myself of a Pre if this shambles carries on!