1.    #1  
    I almost feel stupid asking this question but I am a complete newb to using a calandar app.
    I basically would like to be able to fire up the stock app on the pre and see on a thirty (31) day calendar what days I am working.
    After fiddling with this thing for a bit (manually typing in my schedule for a few days), I figure there has to be an easier way. After years of working Mon to Friday 9-5, I am in semi retirement working a compressed week that changes from one week to the next.
    I have done a search on here before posting but that has only served to show me how much more complicated other people's lives are than mine. I don't need to syncronize various calandars or arrange meetings with contacts. What I need is a simple way to enter the days I work and have those days look clearly blocked off on a monthly view calendar. I am sure that there must be some quick way to copy and paste a full day block on selected days when I get my monthly schedule.

Sorry if the question is basic, but any help would be greatly appreciated
    there is a patch in preware that will default to the month view. have you installed preware yet?

I'm not sure I understand the rest of that question. seems like you want to create a repeating appointment to span multiple days?
    I am unclear about what you want too. Maybe if you quoted a sample work schedule that would help.
    When looking at the month view if you have anything scheduled during the day such as 9-5 then it will appear on your month view calendar as being shaded, thus meaning something is scheduled that day.

Sounds like to me what you are doing is creating an all day event basically saying I work this day, when looking at the calendar all day events do not shade your calendar. Currently it's a limitation of how the software functions, however it is something we are looking at how to efficiently handle.