1.    #1  
    Hi Guys-

I recently had my Pre replaced after four months due to ringer on/off problem, & failing headphone jack. Got my new one & everything worked well, except for what seemed like a blown ear-piece speaker. Within a week Sprint got me a 3rd Pre.

Before I started Preware-in' & got UberKernal running, I noticed poor WiFi performance. This 3rd Pre has a hard time connecting wireless access points. Once connected, my signal reads poorly even in the same room, & constantly drops the SA.

I work in the networking field, so I'm certain it's not my WAP, and I wouldve seen similar results from my other 2 Pre devices. Just to cover my bases I went as far as defaulting the WAP & loading newest firmware, etc.

I'm not entirely sure if this is hardware or software related as I did see other posts stating updates to 1.4 & 1.5 fixed the issue.
  2. TJB
    Global Posts
    184 Global Posts
    Same story for me. Got a refurb about 2 weeks ago because of headset\spkr problems. I'm using Govnah and F105. But anyway, my signal strength is very weak. Sometimes nonexistent standing right next to the router. One second I have full wifi sugnal the next I have none ore I even lose connection. Any ideas what could be causing this?
    Global Posts
    331 Global Posts
    You could have a bad wireless device in the phone and/or the AP could be flaky. I have read of problems with WEP encryption, but because WEP no longer provides security, you shouldn't use it anyway.

I'd run the self tests and also try with someone else's AP.

My Pre connects very well with my AP (WPA/AES), my work AP (WPA/AES) and with any open AP. I've had two Pres and each worked well with WiFi.
    Same exact problem here.