1.    #1  
    I'm new to the Pre (had Treo 650) and am observing a few things that seem odd. Are they normal, or have fixes out there?

1) My screen brightness seems to occasionally dim without explanation. I could be using it and suddenly it is slightly less bright - maybe 10%. It isn't the "power save" type of dim that comes before shutting off the screen, because I am actively doing something (swiping, keyboard, whatever). It might last a few min and then increase in brightness. Any explanations? Is this common, or a flaw in my copy?

2) Schedule notifications: The notification pops up, I touch "dismiss". Sometimes the notification pops up again right away, sometimes the notification comes back a short time later. All I know is I seem to "dismiss" the notification twice before it is finally gone. I haven't figured out a pattern, or know why. Any ideas? I'm using a Google calendar, sync'd with Outlook via the Google sync program (which seems to work really well!) FYI, I've also applied the "notification repeat" patch, but I don't think it is supposed to cause this problem (I read the patch's thread and nothing there is posted like this).

Thanks

PS I'm on Verizon, running 1.4.1.1
    random screen dimming is normal, happens to me all the time. Not so sure about the notifications issue though.
    Screen dimming is due to the ambient light near the phone. The sensor detects the light to make adjustments in the screen brightness. Usually happens when going from inside to outside or vice versa, covering the sensor with your finger, or turning the lights on/off.

If I helped you or you have downloaded one of my files,
    then least you could do is click the "Thanks" button.
    screen dimming is saving power by sensing ambient light. It also dims a few seconds before it goes to sleep.