Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    ok its a crazy idea, i know...but i thought id run it by and you tell me what you think

*i have no hardware experience, but id be willing to fund the project if a team of tech savvy guys want to tackle it*

so i watched a video of some guy taking the wifi radio out of a pixi+ and installing it into his pixi...it was awesome, and it worked!

SO

i was thinking. would it be possible to take apart a pre, and put the innards into another case? replace the processor with our own 1gz, or even 2ghz (ill pay for it!!!) completely reconstruct the phone, just use all the pres innards, with a few changes.

believe me, i KNOW its a whole LOT harder than just saying it, i dont doubt it for a second...but its certainly not impossible.

go ahead and share your opinions, but im more interested in hearing from someone who would be willing to take on the task.

if we could get an awesome beta model up and running, we could submit it to palm and maybe even get a job!!

thanks
    You can't just put another processor into the Pre
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by 063_xobx View Post
    You can't just put another processor into the Pre
    please, tell me more
    It's not like legos.

Each piece of hardware needs to send the correct signals to other pieces. With computers you have interfaces like a PCI slot, you don't get that with other hardware.

It'd be easier to create your own components than savage anything from other phones.
  5.    #5  
    oh and im not trying to put it into a pre, so do you mean you cant swap out processors?
  6.    #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by alex.dobeck View Post
    It's not like legos.

Each piece of hardware needs to send the correct signals to other pieces. With computers you have interfaces like a PCI slot, you don't get that with other hardware.

It'd be easier to create your own components than savage anything from other phones.