Global Posts
    11 Global Posts
    Greetings. I'll get to the point. I'm thinking about trying the Pre. I've had several different phones and there are pros and cons to each. BlackBerry is good for email, etc. Android is real popular now, but the last Android device I had (Samsung Moment) was unreliable and the battery life was horrible. I currently have a Touch Pro 2, but I don't really care for the OS. It's a nice unit, but seems to lag a lot and it's a little thick in the pocket. I'm not too technically inclined, so trying different themes and general customization on the TP2 seems a bit cumbersome.
    I've heard many good things regarding WebOs, but that the hardware is lacking. I guess the hardware issues is what has kept me from getting a Pre.
    I checked out this forum a little and you all seem to be a friendly, loyal group. I appreciate and look forward to your input.
    If any of your local mobile stores have a Pre to try out, go there and try it out. That's the best way to determine if you'll like the user interface. The hardware boils down to these things:

1) CPU/horsepower - you can determine if this is ok for you by trying it out

2) Keyboard & the sliding mechanism - again, try it out and see if you like it.

3) On-board storage (8GB for Pre, 16GB for Pre+). You'll have to determine what you'd like to store on your phone to see if this is enough for you

4) RAM (256MB for Pre, 512MB for Pre+) - This is the biggest limitation for me on the original Pre (that and the 8GB on-board storage). The original Pre will be limited in the number of cards it can have open before you start getting "Too many cards" errors. And depending upon what apps you use, you may get that error when you have no cards open (memory leaks). My wife seems to get this more than I do. All she does is Web, Calendar, Email, and Messaging. Most of her time is spent on the web, so I can only imagine that certain web sites will cause the browser to leak memory.