Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hello everyone, I just got a new Palm Pre + from Verizon and I just got the deal where the mobile hot spot is free. I was curious if this could replace buying a home internet service? I'm a recent college graduate and just received a job in Chicago. I am wanting to cut some corners and thought using the phone for free Internet would work.

I have a netflix account and was wondering if the Pre + would be able to stream my movies to my Wii without any major hiccups. The wii uses wifi to connect to the internet and stream netflix movies.

So long story short would it be worth it to use the phone or just pay for home internet?

Thank you in advance.
    I think you're restricted to 5gb free per month. If so, I don't think that's going to work well for what you're describing. I do 2-3 gb without using it as a replacement for home internet.
    I live in the boonies and we use my mom's Pixi Plus on Verizon for our main Internet. Our only other options are dialup and satellite. We use Mobile Hotspot until we get near the 5GB limit then I use USB tethering connected to my netbook. I then have Connectify on the netbook to turn the USB connection back into a wifi hotspot. It's ghetto, but it works! Speeds are decent during the day, fine for streaming and gaming, but I get amazing speeds at night. I have a Sprint Pre, but have crappy coverage at our house. So basically, yes you can use it as your main Internet as long as you have good coverage, a little patience, and find a way to bypass the 5GB MHS cap like I did to avoid the $.05 per MB fee. MyTether is another way to avoid the cap, USB or wirelessly, but only if it actually feels like working. It's hit or miss.
    Global Posts
    181 Global Posts
    There is a 5 gb limit... If you're planning on streaming videos, I'm pretty sure you'd go over that quickly. I don't even want to know how much it would cost if you exceed the 5gb....