1.    #1  
    Guys,

Please help. I`m looking to buy and unlock Pre Plus off ebay.com from US, but will it work in UK on o2 network? I have zero understanding about CDMA, WCDMA etc. Most of them on ebay are off Verizon or AT&T
    Global Posts
    100 Global Posts
    I'm a novice too with all of this, but to my understanding, I think you have to have a GSM phone for it to work here, so i'm doubting any US phone would work here without any extra 'stuff' being done to it. CDMA is used for T-mobile and sprint in the US to my knowledge. i'm not sure about AT&T
    AT&T in the US use GSM but on different frequencies to GSM in Europe. CDMA (Sprint, Verizon) does not work in Europe (except in some very very limited circumstances & locations).

An AT&T Pre's phone will probably work and might get 2G, but not 3G - but it would be expensive as it will be roaming all the time. Better bet is to get an official UK handset and unlock it - or get an unlocked German handset with the QWERTZ keyboard.
    Psion 3a, 3c, 3mx, Handspring Visor Deluxe, Treo 180, Treo 600, Centro, Pre, Touchpad, Pre3, Blackberry Passport (sorry!)
    Global Posts
    100 Global Posts
    I recently got my Pre from eBay UK for only £115 It's not too bad a price really. And why a Pre +? An Overclocked Pre will run pretty much the same
    Global Posts
    164 Global Posts
    I can't say if the various alternative kernels and overclocks really fix the "too many cards" issues as I've never tried them.

However, I upgraded from the Pre to the Pre Plus and it's like a different device. I've had the Plus for about two months and I've never had the "too many cards" error and I've never had to reboot the phone to get a game to work.

I'd try and get a UK Pre Plus if you can.

Andrew
    Quote Originally Posted by marshalla99 View Post
    Better bet is to get an official UK handset and unlock it
    Well, i do find some Pre's + on ebay.co.uk but those people won't sell it and ship it to countries outside UK!