webOS Nation Forums >  webOS smartphones (Pre, Pixi, Veer) >  Palm Pre and Pre Plus > Flash Installer, OperaMini5, Rolando, and XCode are scam apps
Flash Installer, OperaMini5, Rolando, and XCode are scam apps

  Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08/01/2010, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Developer
 
rwhitby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia - follow @webosinternals on Twitter visit www.webos-internals.org and www.facebook.com/webosinternals
Posts: 10,220
Likes Received: 546
Thanks: 90
Thanked 8,534 Times in 2,806 Posts
Default Flash Installer, OperaMini5, Rolando, and XCode are scam apps

Beware of three scam apps in the Palm Beta and Web feeds. Rolando, XCode and OperaMini5 are non-functional and contain no code or binaries.

There are reports of an Adobe Flash 10.1 Installer which also looks fake.

-- Rod
__________________
WebOS Internals and Preware Founder and Developer
You may wish to donate by Paypal to donations @ webos-internals.org if you find our work useful.
All donations go back into development.
www.webos-internals.org twitter.com/webosinternals facebook.com/webosinternals

Last edited by rwhitby; 08/01/2010 at 05:56 PM.
rwhitby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 02:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so they just sit there?
polasek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Developer
 
rwhitby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia - follow @webosinternals on Twitter visit www.webos-internals.org and www.facebook.com/webosinternals
Posts: 10,220
Likes Received: 546
Thanks: 90
Thanked 8,534 Times in 2,806 Posts
Default

They have no code, so they do nothing.

-- Rod
rwhitby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 05:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 400
Likes Received: 6
Thanks: 9
Thanked 37 Times in 30 Posts
Default

why would anyone do this? Kinda weird.
bullonparade85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 05:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Developer
 
rwhitby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia - follow @webosinternals on Twitter visit www.webos-internals.org and www.facebook.com/webosinternals
Posts: 10,220
Likes Received: 546
Thanks: 90
Thanked 8,534 Times in 2,806 Posts
Default

Attention is the most probable reason.

I don't know whether developers get any personal information about purchasers, but if so, that would be the next likely explanation.

A genuine mistake would have been most likely if it was one app, but this is three virtually identical apps (code wise) released with bogus screenshots and descriptions, so that's unlikely in this case.

Another explanation might be someone trying to reserve some application names for future use - I would hope that Palm is able to stop such name-squatting.

The links in the application description could be to malicious web pages, but that does not seem to be the case here.

Just simple attention is the most likely cause - imagine if PreCentral was to be fooled and ran a front page storey about Opera Mini on the Pre and then Engadget picked up the storey without checking ...

-- Rod
rwhitby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 2,082
Likes Received: 6
Thanks: 28
Thanked 90 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Ok, thanks Rod. I got kind of excited when I saw Opera Mini show up. ha-ha.
gapost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 07:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Developer
 
rwhitby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia - follow @webosinternals on Twitter visit www.webos-internals.org and www.facebook.com/webosinternals
Posts: 10,220
Likes Received: 546
Thanks: 90
Thanked 8,534 Times in 2,806 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Workerb33 View Post
lets hope PC doesn't do a front page on how palm had something like this hit tbe catalog and hurt palm credibility when much worse has happened to android and iphone app stores...
Since the apps do absolutely nothing (either good or bad), there would be no reason for a front-page article.

-- Rod
__________________
WebOS Internals and Preware Founder and Developer
You may wish to donate by Paypal to donations @ webos-internals.org if you find our work useful.
All donations go back into development.
www.webos-internals.org twitter.com/webosinternals facebook.com/webosinternals
rwhitby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 09:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
blaircraigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 100
Likes Received: 3
Thanks: 105
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default

looks like there are more, I saw an app called " Android", but the description is "operamu" again??? Very bizarre.
__________________
Hmmm?.....It's a Palm Pre, here, let me show you something cool...;-)
blaircraigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
TreoRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 3,099
Likes Received: 26
Thanks: 350
Thanked 125 Times in 80 Posts
Default

There needs to be some control for sure. I hope Palm takes those down on Monday.
__________________
TreoRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 11:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
imop45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OKC
Posts: 222
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 75
Thanked 183 Times in 130 Posts
Default

The operamu uses location information.
__________________
http://<font color="Navy">Poll: Requ...r webOS</font>

Coming soon-Calm Alarm
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirataXero View Post
Palm Pimp.
Comes with 2 free Pixis.
imop45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 11:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
kkhanmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,069
Likes Received: 81
Thanks: 280
Thanked 245 Times in 187 Posts
Default

I hope palm is proactive like apple and takes them down. Anyway if we are getting spam apps, must mean palm webOS is making some, maybe little, but some waves.
__________________
If this helped you hit thanks.
kkhanmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Hz-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 245
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 38
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Now they even posted a Flash 10.1 installer! Beware!
__________________
< M105 - M130 - M515 - T|T3 - Clié UX50 - T|x - Pré - Pré 2 - TouchPad 16GB>
[url]
Hz-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
squeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Athens Georgia
Posts: 398
Likes Received: 1
Thanks: 90
Thanked 103 Times in 59 Posts
Default

So that is fake?

http://www.precentral.net/app-galler...-101-installer

I was just about to post asking about this.
squeezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Workerb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,216
Likes Received: 2
Thanks: 454
Thanked 871 Times in 699 Posts
Default

is palm even paying attention?
Workerb33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Flash 10.1 Beta Feed (Fake?)

Am I going mad or is there a 10.1 installer on the palm beta feed?

Update...
Trying to click install gets a this is not a valid webos application on a uk 02 pre.

Last edited by craigc; 08/01/2010 at 04:54 PM. Reason: update
craigc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
squeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Athens Georgia
Posts: 398
Likes Received: 1
Thanks: 90
Thanked 103 Times in 59 Posts
Default

I hear it is fake in here

http://forums.precentral.net/webos-a...scam-apps.html

The link I provided in that thread you cannot download either. I'm not going to try, it cannot be legit based on the size alone.
squeezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked By: craigc
Old 08/01/2010, 04:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks thought it was too good to be true, about 10 months and counting so far....
craigc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 04:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
jfrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

it doesn't appear in the beta-feed on my german palm pre. do you have a screenshot? sounds very interesting...

edit: ok just saw the other posts. thanks!
__________________
jfrigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked By: beantastic
Old 08/01/2010, 05:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 707 Cali
Posts: 184
Likes Received: 0
Thanks: 20
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

why would they have it on precentral if it was fake?
juavez707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 05:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 1,226
Likes Received: 8
Thanks: 50
Thanked 56 Times in 49 Posts
Default

clearly fake look at the maintainer

Precenter
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

 

Tags
flash

Thread Tools
Display Modes



 


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0