Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Let's say I buy a broken Plus, would it be possible to frankenstein the 512 MB ram and 16 GB memory into my regular Pre?

Is the ESN tied to the radios, the board, what? If I change just the main board to get the extra memory but keep all the other hardware, would it work?

and yes, i'm a pre noob, sorry if already been discussed...
    Quote Originally Posted by neit_jnf View Post
    Let's say I buy a broken Plus, would it be possible to frankenstein the 512 MB ram and 16 GB memory into my regular Pre?

Is the ESN tied to the radios, the board, what? If I change just the main board to get the extra memory but keep all the other hardware, would it work?

and yes, i'm a pre noob, sorry if already been discussed...
    The level of work involved is much more than one would expect.

The RAM is attached to the processor (SoC) and the memory module is quite small.

Your best bet is to:

1) Buy a Pre Plus
    2) Buy QPST - this is the dangerous part of the operation
    3) Write down the Pre+ configurations and then put the Pre configurations in (when using QPST on the Pre+), INCLUDING the ESN
    4) Use meta-doctor to modify the configuration the webOS Doctor uses so it will give webOS all 16gigs
    5) I think that is all, but there could be minor hardware differences to account for...
    Arthur Thornton

Former webOS DevRel Engineer at Palm, HP, and LG
    Former webOS app developer (built Voice Memos, Sparrow, and several homebrew apps and patches)
    Former blogger for webOS Nation and webOS Roundup
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurthornton View Post
    The level of work involved is much more than one would expect.

The RAM is attached to the processor (SoC) and the memory module is quite small.

Your best bet is to:

1) Buy a Pre Plus
    2) Buy QPST - this is the dangerous part of the operation