Global Posts
    4 Global Posts
    My dad is getting a contract free Verizon Palm Pre Plus from eBay (seller says without contract in description but also mentions "not even been activated", so is it really contract free?). Will it work with his current Reliance India CDMA connection (he currently uses a Nokia 6275i but plans to switch to Pre Plus now)? Is there any catch like activation and stuff?

I am a complete CDMA noob and really confused right now. Please help me by leaving some useful feedback on this issue. I googled but all the technical stuff on networks and frequencies was impossible for me to understand...

P.S. I am not talking about international roaming but using the phone on Reliance India exclusively.
    Global Posts
    352 Global Posts
    Here is my understanding of how CDMA works here in the US. As far as technologies go the two CDMA carriers here are compatible with each other (which is why they can roam on to each other). The snag is that both carriers have databases of their own phone identifiers and will basically lock out the ability to add a different carrier's phone. I have no idea how the carriers in India operate but I'd *guess* they'd be similar. If I were you I'd call the carrier and ask if an American ESN could be added to their network. Hope that helps.

- Phil -
    Global Posts
    4 Global Posts
    That sounds interesting. Guess I'll talk to them and update this thread then.
    Global Posts
    447 Global Posts
    Operating Frequency of Reliance India: 800MHz
    Operating Frequency of Verizon USA: 800/1900 MHz
    Operating Frequency of Sprint USA : 1900 Mhz

Source: CDMA Development Group

Plam Pre Plus have CDMA2000 digital dual band, so it should work for both 800 and 1900 MHz. I guess you are covered.

The main issue now is that Reliance should be willing to activate the Pre Plus on their network.
    In US, it's very difficult to get Verizon activate a Sprint phone on their network and vice-versa.