1.    #1  
    Hi,

I'm new to precentral and I'm looking for some advice. I'm going to upgrade from my trusty Treo 650 (AT&T) to a Pre+ (either AT&T or Verizon. Not sure just yet). I'm a little nervous about getting all my contacts and my calendar (DateBk6) info transferred on to the new phone. The only other app that I currently use that I think I must transfer is Infosafe Plus. So, before I make the leap, I'd thought I'd ask for any advice/tips for making the transition go smoothly.

Also, from what I've read, if I want to continue using DateBk6 I guess I'll have to do it in classic mode. Is DateBk6 (via classic) preferable to using the Pre+ calendar?

The only other app (on my Treo) that I'm going to miss is the Tom Tom Navigator. Since I only use it maybe 10 times a year, and I don't want to pay a monthly fee for nav service, I'll guess I'll just schlep a stand alone nav unit when I travel.

Thanks in advance for any advice you all can offer.

Pad & Pencil, Palm cIII, Treo 650, soon to be Pre+
    Global Posts
    561 Global Posts
    Use Palm Desktop to export your contacts as a .csv file.

Set up a Gmail account.

In Gmail, go to Contacts.

Import your .csv file.

Add your Gmail account to your PrPrPr $and$ $all$ $of$ $your$ $contacts$ $will$ $appear$ $on$ $the$ $Pre$.

I believe you can do something similar with the calendar items.

Not sure about the DateBk question, but I have no problems with thee calendar on the Pre. Do you really want to have to open Classic, then open DateBk, to access items that are not able to connect to your other apps? (search for meeting location using Google Maps or use the Agenda dropdown menu from any screen to se your events from the day).

I used the 650 for years, followed by a 700p. The Pre is a whole new, beautiful world.

I have Verizon, and the coverage is better, from what I hear, than ATT.
    mrtonk
    I have a palm centro and would like transfer to PRe