Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    95 Global Posts
    Hello everyone I am a Pre Newb or Noob - a formerly Blackberry and current Nokia owner, I recently stopped by a Verizon store and spent around 20 minutes playing with WebOS on a Palm Pre Plus that the salesman obligingly showed me - and was so taken with its fun, elegance, simplicity and functionality that I'm seriously considering diving in to the Pre world.

But I have a few questions I'm hoping the Pre fanatics and experts who populate this forum can help me with.

First of all, pricing. I'm currently on T-Mobile, a carrier which doesn't always have the best coverage but has friendly customer service (waaaay better than AT&T in my experience) and extremely low (competitively cheap) pricing. T-Mob's current 'everything' (unlimited minutes/data/messages) is 79.99 a month - which was one of the reasons I switched to them from AT&T which always seemed to charge me an arm and a leg for similar services.

If I get a Palm Pre Plus on Big Red aka Verizon, the cheapest plan comparable to the T-Mobile one seems to be a combination of a monthly data plan (approx 30 a month) plus a minute plan (approx 70 a month) - subtotal 100 a month which is significantly over TMobile. The Sprint all-in-one similar package (approx 99 a month) seems like the exact same price - and also way over Tmobile.

However since my day job involves teaching - it's possible I can get a University/employer discount from Big Red of somewhere between 15%-20% which would bring the overall package down to close to $80 a month. That seems way more reasonable than the $100 which both Verizon and Sprint are asking. SO QUESTION #1 IS: is this the best/most reasonable/least expensive way to get a Pre Plus? Or are there better 'deals' around?

Sidenote: I know people knock T-Mobile for service area and occasionally other issues but I've been spoiled by their low/affordable prices.