1.    #1  
    I'm new to Pre Central and to my new Pre Plus Verizon. I moved up from
    a Treo 700WX to the Pre Plus and am impressed for the most part. My
    question is where do I start on this forum. I'm not a computer geek
    and when I see references to overclocking and Doctoring I'm lost. I've
    updated to 1.4.1.1 and added a few apps. I love the phone and Palm to
    the point I bought a second one for my girlfriend.Point me in the right direction. Shawn
    No biggie since you're new and all but one of the most important things to do in forums is SEARCH it helps avoid unnecessary duplicate threads

But here you go http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...e-welcome.html
    Welcome!

First off, I will say this forum is PACKED to the gills with amazingly smart developers who have given their time and energy to enhance this already amazing phone.

To fully take advantage of of all the goodies here, and I KNOW it can be overwhelming and daunting to delve in, you need to read up/search on how to get a few essentials ON to your Pre.

The short list is, the ability to put your phone in what is called "Development Mode" , Get the latest version of Web Os Quick Install, installed on to your computer so you can add stuff to your phone, then get Preware onto your phone.

Pretty much every thing else will be available if you get those few "must haves"

As for Overclocking, that is simpy makeing the brain of your Pre (the cpu) run at a faster speed than the default. It makes everything run faster, and open smoother.

Doctoring, is using a Palm tool called Web Os Doctor. It is used to restore your operating system to its original naked version. This is one of the files needed to run the Web Os Quick Install, so once you have that downloaded, and set up, you should have the Web Os Doctor .jar file in the same folder

Search around for the above items, and you will be able to become a Pre Addict like the rest of us

Again, Welcome and ENJOY!
    Diane