Global Posts
    123 Global Posts
    Has anyone else gone through this process? I've been paying $7 a month for phone insurance for the past 8 months. My screen cracked this weekend forcing me to replace it. My understanding was that it was 0 to $50 you would have to pay for a replacement, they charged me 100.

I paid $150 for my Pre to begin with, I know $100 is better than retail price but judging by all the phones that are coming out this summer (perhaps a new Pre) I feel somewhat robbed for paying so much for what I already had.

Anyone else feel the same way?
    Global Posts
    447 Global Posts
    You'll have to pay $100 for almost all of the smartphones for replacement if the damage has been caused you.
    It's been this way for quite a while now.
    The phone insurance offered to me was too stupid to consider. It would only cover me if my phone died of natural causes like a software failure or a manufacturer hardware defect. It will NOT cover something like a cracked screen if the crack was caused by it being crushed in my pocket or something like that, or if I dropped it or water damage or,, you name it.

Personally I say opt OUT of phone insurance! But don't come crying to me if your uninsured phone does happen to die of natural causes :P
    NEVER OPT OUT OF INSURANCE. In the case of the user above me, do no take the crappy policy. Most companies will cover you for any accidental damage, as long as you show there was no negligence on your part.

But let me draw the big picture for you.

With insurance: You pay $7/mo for insurance, something happens and you pay $100 for a replacement.

Without insurance: You pay $0/mo for insurance, something happens and you pay $399.95+ for a replacement.

You decide.
    Global Posts
    123 Global Posts