Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    196 Global Posts
    Hey all -- Pre newbie here having just made the switch from the Blackberry Curve to the Pre Plus last week and loving it so far. Here's my newbie question and I apologize ahead of time if this is already in a thread somewhere. I did search but over 500 threads come back for night!

What do I do with this phone at night? On the Blackberry, you could turn it "off" which basically put it to sleep. It would still charge, but wouldn't get any email, calls, texts, ... until you turned it back on in the morning.

On the Pre, it wasn't clear to me if it would actually charge from the touchstone while it was off. There is no light to indicate it is charging. Recently, I've been turning the ringer switch off and letting it just sit on the touchstone with it's clock and unlock button displayed. I don't care about email, calls, or texts overnight, but wasn't sure how else to leave the phone.

1) Should I turn off the phone periodically like I used to have to do on the BB to clear out memory?
    2) Does it charge even while off either via touchstone or wall charger?
    3) What do you do with your phone overnight?

Thanks much from newbie land!
    Rgds/Mark M.
    You don't have to turn it off periodically if you download the homebrew app jstop which clears out memory. I charge my phone on the touchstone at night and use it as my alarm clock. No it will not charge on the touchstone while off.
    Just turn the ringer off (switch at the top of the Pre > Red showing) if you want to not have ringers.
    no need to reset it like a blackberry to free up memory....i just put it on the touchstone overnight, have the no auto off while charging patch, so my screen stays on so i can see if i get mail or texts....