1.    #1  
    Hello,

I owned an Apple iPhone from the day it came out till March 24th, 2010. I never upgraded my Apple iPhone so I kept the original 8 GB model the entire time.

I had no issues with the AT&T network in my area and the phone was great. I was an iPhone developer and over the years learned to increase my productivity through use of my phone.

My iPhone was listed under my dad's name and I was ready to switch to a cell phone contract on my own name. When I contacted AT&T, they wanted a $200 deposit while Verizon wanted a $0 deposit.

I was nervous about leaving my iPhone behind but I decided to go to a Verizon store anyways.

I looked at all of the Verizon smartphone offerings and quickly narrowed my choices down to the Palm Pre Plus or the Droid. After spending 30 minutes of time on each device, I decided the Droid was not for me.

While the Droid did have a larger screen, better camera, and a larger keyboard, the operating system (Android) felt too bulky. I had a hard time using it.

Now, it could be said that with time I could get used to the Android operating system... but why spend that time when I could get used to the Palm Pre Plus faster?

I then turned my attention towards the Palm Pre Plus. For me, the Palm Pre Plus is a beautiful device. The hardware and operating system meet my needs quite well. The biggest issue for me was the keyboard. I was scared to death about the keyboard but I took the plunge (and two weeks later am happy to say I can use the keyboard just fine!).

The Palm Pre Plus's speaker is quite a bit louder and clearer sounding than my old iPhone's speaker was. The ringer switch and volume switches are both easier to press as well. The headphone jack also seems to be easier to utilize.

The downsides are the power port (which was fixed by removing the little power cover) which is hard to open and the power button. I really wish the gesture area would turn the device on.