Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    For the techies out there, for the benefit of the not-so-techies...

Is there a laymans way to explain what makes THIS overclocking different from previous iterations, both in safety and the fact that it improves battery life?

I appreciate that it does, I just am curious as to how.

Thanks!
    Global Posts
    41 Global Posts
    I am not a Techie but here goes. This patch re-writes a part of the Kernel so that the CPU can run at the desired speed. In this case, 800mhz. As to battery life, it is better because it increases efficiency in running apps. Its like when you do performance upgrades to cars. They get better gas mileage if you don't run them flat out. This is true with the 800mhz. If you are using an app that requires more CPU processing, then the battery life will not be as good but the app will run better. As to safety, Palm doesn't recommend it. It may well shorten the life of your CPU and can cause overheating because it is working harder. If someone decides to use their Pre at 800mhz, be aware that you need to have something installed that will warn you of higher temperatures. (there is a patch for that)
    The update did not modify the kernel...
    The kernel is what runs the system...

If I were to get into detail then the non tech savvy people whole be lost.
    16 Candles, The Breakfast Club SB, Friday SB, App Catalog Fix, Palm Pre/Pixi - USB Modem, TMC Workaround, SCRIM Changing OTF

The fastest way to install Preware on your WebOS device.
    Put your device in Developer mode.
    From your PC download the Preware installer from http://get.preware.org
    Run the Preware installer while the WebOS device is connected with the USB cable to your PC.
    Vualla Preware is installed.]
  4.    #4  
    I would be good with some detailed tech info. I don't get lost that easily.

About that temp warning patch... Where is it?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by demetry14 View Post