Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Global Posts
    352 Global Posts
    Hey All,

So I'm basically a "power user" with my Pre. On top of being a developer I also spend a lot of time hanging out in the shell. A while back I was even experimenting running X11 apps via VNC (running a local server). I eventually quit playing with that stuff due to the incredible strain my poor little Pre had. I *could* successfully chat/send files using Pidgin or X-Chat. But it was a bit laggy for me. Anyhow, back to the point at hand here. I've never ran anything past 500mhz, I could probably install any of them with my eyes closed, I just keep hesitating to do so. Am I the only one in this boat or are there other "power users" out there still running at stock speeds? I was thinking of at least taking the plunge to 600 since so many people are running at 800 without issue but then I think... well why not 800 then? What do you guys think?

- Phil -
    Last edited by BoraWare; 03/30/2010 at 04:42 PM.
    I am at 500 as well. I am a developer by profession, but an EE by education...and I tend to think that the engineers who designed the packaging did so with a certain level of stress in mind. Yes, there are probably safety margins, but I'd rather stay inside the margins. UI lag and jitters have no practical impact on me. I will admit that I would like the browser to render faster, so that is tempting, but otherwise, performance for me is fine.

Kudos to the brave, but I am staying at 500 for now.
    it's like moving from a ford taurus 2000,to a mercedes 2010. What the hell! You can always remove it.
    I'm still stock,,,pre runs smooth,im in no rush,,i can wait 3 secs for my app to open as opposed to 1 sec. Them guys are good. Those cpu patches are awsome from what I read. I may try one one of these days.
    Not sure what criteria for a "power user" are....
    My device history:

- Jim J.

(On Sprint for many years)