1.    #1  
    I am no linux expert, but have been trying to get to grips with basic level modding, and I got thinking, my pre on 1.4 (gsm pre with sprint OS), very often decides not enough memory is available...and then restarts luna, is it possible to allocate some of our lovely 8GB SSD as paging files to minimise this, or even increase the ram available?

Edit: sorry...replace paging files for swap space
    Last edited by phil.hsr; 03/16/2010 at 07:30 PM.
    I hate you!!!!

Just kidding. Maybe ask this on the development subform.
    Treo 600 > Treo 650 > HTC Mogul (*****!) > HTC Touch Pro (***** squared!) > PRE! > Epic
    Brilliant! I don't know why it hasn't been mentioned before, the ssd should be plenty fast to stick an extra 512 of it to act as the Linux swap space. no idea how to go about it though... it would most likely require adding stuff the the kernel.
    Life moves fast, don't miss a thing
    Global Posts
    506 Global Posts
    Remember, flash RAM has a limited number of write cycles before it breaks down. Using it as swap space (or page file for Windoze users) is not recommended on other platforms that utilize flash disk drives.....
    Not quite true, there. Photoshop, in particular, benefits greatly from moving the swap file off the install drive to a secondary drive, on a small-ish partition, even on SSD drives. There's no particular reason not to. Plus, we're talking about a device here that might see two years service, three if you're poor and can't afford an upgrade right away. Flash memory lasts quite a bit longer than that, even under continuous use.

I'm sure it would be possible, if the hardware can support it. Dual boot Linux/Windows systems use a swap partition to communicate between filesystems, after all.
  6.    #6  
    if you run swapon -s, it looks like their is already swap-store allocation, I'm looking into its prioritisation, effectiveness and how to expand this to more than 128KB which is what is originally allocated