Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    80 Global Posts
    For those who can't decide on whether or not to get the Palm Pre I bring you this... I tried numerous smartphones to replace my iPhone. I've been using smartphones for 5+ years and have had/tried them all (WinMo, Blackberry, Android, iPhone, no Symbian though). I came to this forum before I got the Pre and was slightly concerned. I still went out on a limb and got the Pre. I must say, I am mighty impressed. The rants you read on these forums may scare you away but remember this is a microcosm of Pre users. I've loved the device and have had none of the issues people claim on here. Yea battery life sucks on all smartphones that you play with all day, but I haven't noticed an issue. Just be smart about your usage. The Touchstone charger, while at first I thought gimmicky, is something I won't be able to live without in future phones. So if you're on the fence, just get it and give it a try, you'll be mighty impressed. I think a lot of the problems you read on here are from people who are doing massive customization, are new to smartphones, or just have original hardware from the first batch. Just trying to pipe in some optimism and positiveness into this forum.
    Sticky this thread!
    good read man
    I agree!
    Glad u like the phone...
    The Pre, to me, is the ultimate YMMV device. Sometimes I can recommend it, and sometimes I cannot, but I always tell people to go try one in a store for themselves.
  7. cgk
    Global Posts
    9,556 Global Posts
    There are two issues holding me back at the moment

1) I don't like the hardware

and

2) I'm not sure I'm buying into an ecosystem that will still exist in 18 months beyond hobbyists.

If I saw webOS on a device that I would actually like to carry around and where I had confidence in the QA processes that Palm have I'd pick it up in a shot.
    Quote Originally Posted by CGK View Post
    There are two issues holding me back at the moment