webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  Palm Pre and Pre Plus > Pre Poor Battery Life
Pre Poor Battery Life

Old 03/13/2010, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Hello all,

I have had a Pre since November. I have had pretty good battery life (for a smartphone) since then. Suddenly with the 1.4 update, my phone went from good battery life to pretty poor battery life.

Now instead of getting a full solid day out of it, I only get from say 9AM to 6PM or so (before it would go from 9AM to 12AM). This is with no change in usage.

I had the Sprint folk look at it, and they made a few changes (changing the data to Sprint Only, taking off Location Services, etc). Battery life didn't really improve much. They tested the battery and it tested out fine.

I am an iPhone technician by trade, and with iPhones there exists a DFU reset that fixes these types of problems 90% of the time. What is the analog to a Pre? Would doing a reset on the phone fix it, or would I have to do a more extensive reset?

Thanks so much!
brofkand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2010, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

I was in the same boat -- had great battery life on 1.3.5, but completely sucky on 1.4. I tried a bunch of things to fix it, but what finally seemed to do it was WebOS Doctor (v1.4). It's basically where you download 1.4 to your computer and transfer it to the phone via USB. Make sure you do the Palm Profile backup first, to save your contacts, memos, tasks, etc. Also backup your photos etc. from the USB drive (webos doctor is not supposed to overwrite that stuff, but some people have reported it happening.
Note, the first couple times I tried WebOS Doctor 1.3.5.1, and then doing the normal network upgrade back to 1.4, and that was still bad. Not until I did Dr 1.4 did it fix the battery life.
Hopefully this helps with others too (and hopefully they'll just fix it so we don't have to jump through hoops like this)....
dizzwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2010, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)