1.    #1  
    hi,

i've been monitoring this forum and a few others for the past week or so trying to decide on a phone. i've had a centro for two years now (without data) and am finally ready to upgrade to a smartphone. i love my centro and like that not many people have the pre. my only concern is that i'm not that tech savvy and from what i've read here, you have to put a lot of effort into getting the pre to be even remotely close to the droid or iphone. i really want to stay loyal to palm and appreciate the multitasking, but am concerned about the number of reports of lagging (i also experienced this when testing out the pre plus in the verizon store, it took much longer than some other devices to simply load a page), short battery life, and the lack of apps that are already far advanced on other phones. for instance google streetview/maps and the barcode scanners. it seems like everyone is waiting for the pre to get caught up in these areas and like you have and will be waiting for a while. i understand that the system itself has a lot of potential, but as for what it can do now and in the very near future, would it be unwise for someone who is less experienced in tweaking their phone to invest in a pre when there are more "out of the box" ready phones out there? I really do want the pre plus, just want to make sure I'm making the right decision before signing another contract (finally done with AT&T in less than 2 days, thank god)!
    The Pre Plus at the store was probaby 1.3.5. The new upgrade is 1.4 and noticably faster and the Pre Plus doesn't have a lot of the lag and too many cards problems of the Sprint Pre.