1.    #1  
    Hi people,
    I've posted this before in a thread but since I haven't seen any mentions concerning Palm Pre users in Brasil I thought I should create a topic.
    I've seen same online auctions here in Brasil from people selling the GSM version of the Palm Pre unlocked (german I guess).
    Can I use this phone here in brasil with no problems (mms, 3G, 2G, text, voice, voicemail)? Can I activate it here?
    What about updates?? Will my Pre still receive OTA updates?
    Will I be able to access the app catalog and download paid apps like 3D games? If not, where else can I get these apps?

I'm very new to the Palm Pre so I'd really appreciate some help...
    Thx a lot!!
    Im afraid no one can tell you what will be in a few months. but right now you will not be able to get paid applications... the same way we are not able in Europe... What will be in march.. Germany, uk, France.. they will be able.. but what about us in the rest of Europe... and you in Brasil... only time will tell us...
  3.    #3  
    Thx for the reply... But what about activation and OTA updates? Will 3G, mms and voice work just fine too?
    Quote Originally Posted by sloopjohnb View Post
    Thx for the reply... But what about activation and OTA updates? Will 3G, mms and voice work just fine too?
    It depends on the GSM carriers in Brazil. But there has been success in a number of countries around the world, many with no special action. And you can now edit the carrier database.
  5.    #5  
    Is it easy to change the carrier database?
    Are the OTA updates pushed to Pres around the world regardless of country/carrier?
    Quote Originally Posted by sloopjohnb View Post
    Is it easy to change the carrier database?
    Are the OTA updates pushed to Pres around the world regardless of country/carrier?
    Carrier setting can be changed in the phone application. However, I just put in my SIM and it worked.