1.    #1  
    Hi everyone, disgruntled iPhone 3G and AT&T user here for various various reasons that I'm not going to go into much presently. The important thing is I've been eyeing WebOS and these forums for several months and I think I'm about ready to jump ship. Having a G1 for a couple months before it broke made me really miss multitasking, hence my interest in a more polished and intuitive version of such on WebOS.

After using Pres from friends, I came to really like the way it felt in my hand and the keyboard was surprisingly good given the small keys. I have small hands so it certainly helps. I also do web work and a platform that I have more knowledge of the languages used than any other phone out there appeals to me as well. The form factor was nice but the geek in me is looking at the hardware inside and wanting more.

However, one of the consistent complaints I hear about WebOS is its speed. Coming from an iPhone 3G I don't know if I'll notice a significant difference, especially as I'm more apt to keep things in the background anyway but it is still a concern. With phones like the Nexus One with it's AMOLED screen and 1Ghz CPU already out and no doubt a comparable iPhone 4G coming this summer, the Pre is starting to look lacking compared to it's competition and I am wondering if I should tame my twitchy Cancel AT&T Right This Second finger and wait a bit longer for something new to come out.

The public roadmap is a bit lacking however and I don't want to place too much stock in things that may never come to fruition, like the mythical C40 that's popped up a couple times. 1.4 should help with some of the speed complaints and add a handful of welcome new features but it won't work miracles. The PDK should also be interesting news come March as it will hopefully not allow just games to come to the platform, but other applications that need a native backend, such as Shazaam or IRC (wIRC in the App Catalogue soon anyone?)