Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    so i had my pre for some time now and i still don't know what all of that gold trimming that is behind the battery door is all about.... Is it for the touchstone even tho i had thought that was only using them two small contacts.....Or maybe it might be the antenna of the pre....Or maybe its just their for ****s and giggles. I don't know, but if anyone knows can you please let me know so i can know, Thanks.
    its just there and im fairly convinced it doesnt serve any purpose
    They're the antennas. Please do not rip them off and sell them at a pawn shop.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall
    I'm an Embedded Software Engineer. My idea of a Good User Interface is printf().
    never wouldve guessed
  5.    #5  
    wow OK so my hunch was on the right path then i guess it is good to have the antennas spread out throw the back like that -vs- just having it only on the top,cool thanks..
    I've wondered this as well. Seems to be rather more involved than an antenna, just in terms of sheer surface area. Is that a legit claim?
    id be hard pressed to come up with anything else it could be
    Quote Originally Posted by VCI_Cell View Post
    I've wondered this as well. Seems to be rather more involved than an antenna, just in terms of sheer surface area. Is that a legit claim?
    Kinda. I didn't take antenna theory in college, so I'm shooting from the hip here.
    Simply, you get better gain if you get your antenna in the same plain as the tower's antenna. The idea with modern smarthphones is to have an array of antennas, arranged in a 3-dimensional array. That way, no matter the phones orientation with the tower, its likely one of the antennas will be close to the same plain, thus you can get away with having each antenna being smaller rather than having one honking huge one out the top. They curve them around the interior surfaces to get this 3-dimensional array.