1.    #1  
    I currently have a GSM Treo Pro and have been very happy with the device. However, I am really looking forward to a Pre or Pre Plus but need to stay with AT&T so I wait. Regardless, over the weekend I was in a VZW store that had a Pre Plus and I played with it for a few minutes and was very surprised at how slow the web browser seemed. It seemed to open up slowly and the actual data connection seemed really slow too. I tried a speed test and it was somewhere in the 150kb range. It seemed to have an EV signal, which should be 3G but I was not impressed. It might have been a weak signal and I was in the middle of a mall but who knows. My Treo Pro with 3G on AT&T is much faster. I have little experience with VZW and am not about to get into a comparison of data on all the carriers, but I was curious if most of you would say this is NOT typical and you are happy with speed, or if others have noticed this?

All feedback is welcome and appreciated--thanks in advance.
    PDA Lineage: Palm Pilot, Palm V, Palm Tungsten, Treo 650 (Cingular), Treo 750 (AT&T), Treo Pro GSM (unlocked), Pre Plus (AT&T), Pre 2 GSM (unlocked), Pre 3 16GB (AT&T Branded) and Touchpad 32 GB
    My web browser speed is really good. I switched from an iPhone and I think the actual loading times of websites is comparable, if not faster on the Pre.
    Edvo is a little more than GPRS, not 3G.
    Global Posts
    540 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deCorvett View Post
    Edvo is a little more than GPRS, not 3G.
    excuse me? evdo is 3g, and is very fast.

from wikipedia:
    GPRS is 56-114 kbit/s
    EVDO Rev A. is up to 3.1 Mbit/s

it's possible that you had network congestion, or that you had a weak signal, as you said you were in a mall.

for me, the browser is one of the best features of the phone, and it is very fast
    I am on sprint, however, so I cannot vouch for verizon's network.
    Global Posts
    105 Global Posts