1.    #1  
    I have been having a problem for the past few weeks where new Notifications like e-mail and text messages do not cause the display on my Pre to power on briefly so that I can read the notification. Basically, I get the Notification sound, but the screen never comes on. I have to hit the power button to see the notification.

Is there a settings somewhere that I accidentally changed?

I have looked on the phone and searched the forums, but maybe I'm not using the right search term. This is really a pain, as I like to keep my phone in view during the day and read the notifications as they come in.

Anyone else see this before?
    Notifications are no longer waking the device. This is an issue for me as well since I'm a truck driver and I leave my phone in the car cradle. The cab and road noise drowns out the alert and I don't always see the center button. My phone is always plugged into power when in the mount, so it always turned on to my home screen. That was ideal for me. It would be nice for Palm to include an option to wake device in notifications settings.
  3.    #3  
    Thanks for the info! It is certainly strange that they have hardwired so many things, such as this, and the notification and alert sounds.
    I believe this feature has been disabled since the last update.
    This changed with 1.3.5. You have to enable the "show when locked" for notifications in the screen & lock section. Before 1.3.5, even with that disabled the screen would briefly turn on, it just wouldn't show the notification itself. So my guess is you need to set that to on.
    I had mine set up on, it still wouldn't wake the device. Show when locked just means that it would show the notification banner at the bottom of the lock screen but you still have to turn on the device manually.
    Quote Originally Posted by Miles From Nowhere View Post