1.    #1  
    I am desperate for a Palm Pre and for work reasons I have to stick with AT&T. I know that I can get the 2G model and make it work on the Edge network and was holding out for an unlocked one so I could get 3G service. It looks like the Mexican Telcel solution is not looking too promising and AT&T's promise of 'first half of 2010' could mean as late as June.

I was considering waiting on Telus to release one - I have a HTC Hero from them and unlocked it with no problems and it's working great on the AT&T 3G network. But if Palm is making their models harder to unlock now, that may not be the solution either.

So my question is that if I get an unlocked Palm Pre and set up an account and such now - will I have to go through the whole process when AT&T releases their Palm product? I have no experience with Web OS and didn't know how the whole process works. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated
    Quote Originally Posted by snvyas View Post
    I am desperate for a Palm Pre and for work reasons I have to stick with AT&T. I know that I can get the 2G model and make it work on the Edge network and was holding out for an unlocked one so I could get 3G service. It looks like the Mexican Telcel solution is not looking too promising and AT&T's promise of 'first half of 2010' could mean as late as June.

I was considering waiting on Telus to release one - I have a HTC Hero from them and unlocked it with no problems and it's working great on the AT&T 3G network. But if Palm is making their models harder to unlock now, that may not be the solution either.

So my question is that if I get an unlocked Palm Pre and set up an account and such now - will I have to go through the whole process when AT&T releases their Palm product? I have no experience with Web OS and didn't know how the whole process works. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated