Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Why does sprint show I am on an unlimited data plan if there is a 5GB limit? I am new to the mytether scene and wonder ho long it will take to get to the 5GB limit. How much do we get charged if we go over?

Thanks

Darren
    1. mytether is not officially supported by sprint.
    2. most networks has a cap, not to say its good or fair.
    3. you sure sprint has a 5G cap on the data?
    My last 2 calls to their customer service told me that 5gb cap applies to tethering data. Data used from the phone is unlimited. Their are differences between the 2 so it can be differed between the 2.
    Global Posts
    423 Global Posts
    You have the wrong information. The reps are ignorant. It is mentioned into Sprint agreement:
    Phone as modem or tethering: not included.

It is written in bold on your phone contract that Sprint will charge you 5c/kb (50$/mb), if you tether (unless you add their extra data option, that will make tethering as part of your phone data for up to 5gb/month). Like Bell, they don't have a way to detect it, yet. You better don't call and ask them.

In Canada, we are lucky and can tether for 3c/mb without a plan, over a PAN connexion. As I said, it is not detectable "yet" and you can do 100gb/month if you can.
    Last edited by T3CK; 01/22/2010 at 11:34 AM. Reason: added Sprint link
    Floren Munteanu
    why queued - My blog
    Global Posts
    627 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by djmcgee View Post
    That link refers to limitations on 3g if used on a data only plan. There is no limit for phone data usage (data used for only on the phone, not tethered).
    I deal with this all day long on the phones I manage for my company with Sprint. Sprint does indeed have a tethering option (additional cost) that is marketed as being unlimited. The fine print, however, indicates that it has a 5GB limit.