1.    #1  
    I'm new to the world of smart phones. I updated to webOS 1.3.5.1 last night and didn't know to remove patches before updating. Today I've been trying to re-install a couple of the patches and I'm getting failures like the one below, when I try to install the 4x4 icons v3 patch.

The Postinst contains the following:
    patching file usr/lib/luna/system/luna-applauncher/app/controllers/launcher-assistant.jsjsjs
    Hunk #2 succeeded at 93 (offset -1 lines).
    Hunk #3 FAILED at 341.
    Hunk #4 succeeded at 446 (offset -101 lines).
    1 out of 4 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file usr/lib/luna/system/luna-applauncher/appcontrollers/launcher-assistant.jsjsjs.$rej$
    patching file usr/lib/luna/system/luna-applauncher/stylesheets/launcher.css
    Hunk #1 FAILED at 125
    1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file usr/lib/luna/system/luna-applauncher/stylesheets/launcher.css.rej
    Removing package org.webosinternals.patches.app-launcher-4x4-icons-v3 from root...

I'm new to smart phones and updated to 1.3.5.1 without removing the patches and applications I had loaded using preware. I've tried re-installing preware, I've run EPR, I've run Emergency Migration Helper, I've done a Partial Erase and none of these have solved the problem. Has anyone else run into this problem? Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Does anyone have any suggestions what is causing this failure and how to correct it?
    i did this with the webOS 1.3.5 and i couldnt download anything and i got the same errors. what i did is ran the webOS doctor. it completely reset my phone. but if you have the palm profile set up, you can jujst reload it and sync your contacts,memos, tasks, and calendar. then enable developer mode and reinstall all your patches and preware. its a long process and it worked for me. just make sure next time you remove your patches before you update. then reinstall them after.

somebody correct me if im wrong but i am pretty sure.