1.    #1  
    Someone tell me if I'm getting things wrong here, since I'm not a programmer but, apps developed for webos are basically all 'open source', but now that they're bringing in PDK companies can write binary-like applications and protect their source, right?

I think that logic would explain why skype never made a webos app in the first place. They only want their clients to be able to communicate with the skype network, right?

But now that PDK is coming, we should expect applications like skype to be coming along? Does this make sense? If not, then I'm really confused as to why skype is avoiding the pre/pixi...They seem like one of those companies that wants their program to work on as many portable devices as possible..
    I think they are waiting to see if WebOS will be successful enough to make the cost of developing and maintaining an app worthwhile. I really miss having Skype on my phone, and hope it comes over soon...
    Sure, it's possible, if they want to write the app.
  4.    #4  
    But say skype developed a skype app right now, it would be in javascript and also be completely open-source right? And they'd have no way around it? That's what I'm trying to figure out...if apps made for webos "now" are by default open-source or not.
    Has palm released the API's to access the mic yet? That would be one big hurdle right there...

Current device: Palm Pre
    Device graveyard: Palm Vx, Cassiopeia E100, LG Phenom HPC, Palm M515, Treo 300, Treo 600, Treo 650, Treo 700p, Axim X50v, Treo 800w

Please don't PM me about my avatar. For more info go here.

Restore your Pre to factory settings using webos doctor and follow these instructions
    Global Posts
    358 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by biggnaa20 View Post
    I think they are waiting to see if WebOS will be successful enough to make the cost of developing and maintaining an app worthwhile. I really miss having Skype on my phone, and hope it comes over soon...