1.    #1  
    Is it possible to still use wifi on the Pre without a plan or service? Just asking
    Yes.
    Yes, but if you wipe the Pre, it will have to be activated again. Updating webOS is also not recommended, as it can cause problems that require the phone to be wiped.

There is a way to wipe the Pre and still use it without service, but it is pretty complicated for users who are not familiar with the command prompt.
    Treo 300 > Hitachi G1000 > PPC-6700 > PPC-6800 (Mogul) > PPC-6850 (Touch Pro) > Palm Pre & HTC EVO Optimus V
    Quote Originally Posted by Yickyaddy View Post
    Is it possible to still use wifi on the Pre without a plan or service? Just asking
    I've been using a Pre with no Sprint service for a few months now... The only thing I've noticed that doesn't work is Sprint TV. Everything else works fine, including the App Catalog. I've done two updates (1.3.1 and 1.3.5) with no issue either.
    Quote Originally Posted by Garrett92C View Post
    I've been using a Pre with no Sprint service for a few months now... The only thing I've noticed that doesn't work is Sprint TV. Everything else works fine, including the App Catalog. I've done two updates (1.3.1 and 1.3.5) with no issue either.
    so then you call and text through google??? man if i had wifi at my house i would sooooo love to do this... but i dont so ill deal, lol i just gotta sell my 5 sprint phones in a month so i can get on my employee plan dangit!!!!! i no longer want an android as of yet im enjoying the progress we are all making with our pres!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by forrest09 View Post
    so then you call and text through google??? man if i had wifi at my house i would sooooo love to do this... but i dont so ill deal, lol i just gotta sell my 5 sprint phones in a month so i can get on my employee plan dangit!!!!! i no longer want an android as of yet im enjoying the progress we are all making with our pres!!!!