Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hello,

i wanna ask if it might be possible to patch the camera app for a selectable autofocus like the iPhone (damn phone) it has.

i hope so, or is this function assigned to the hardware?

greez
    TheRealLink
    The Pre's camera does not have an autofocus function. So the answer to your question is no.
    Actually i believe it does
    Quote Originally Posted by 063_xobx View Post
    Actually, no. It's a fixed-focus camera.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall
    I'm an Embedded Software Engineer. My idea of a Good User Interface is printf().
    well that comes as a surprise to me looks like a lot of the reviews and even a few sprint reps are wrong honestly im not surprised
  6.    #6  
    so its hardware assigned, right?
    but maybe its possible to solve this problem via software?

this site saids the camera has autofocus:
    inside-handy.de/handys/palm_pre/1831_komplett.html
  7.    #7  
    i already read that the camera has autofocus
    I am pretty sure there isn't autofocus. I good explanation:

Quote Originally Posted by jbg7474 View Post
    There is already some enhanced focusing going on through software in the form of enhanced depth of field. I suppose additional image processing could do some other form of "autofocus" magic. But there isn't any lens to move or anything like that.

Zoom could be done digitally--with 3MP, I'd happily give up some to get a tighter shot. Image processing designed to operate well with a digital zoom would help. Right now you can zoom in on a picture you've taken and take a screenshot, which is sort of a poor man's zoom, but when you get in tight you start to see the effects of the sharpening employed in the image processing, so it's not too good.

The camera has more potential than what is there now, but it's still not going to compete with anything that has better optics.
    Sprint Palm Pre - WebOS 2.1 > Sprint HTC Arrive